The Best Mistake

Favorite Mistake

Is there a mistake you’ve made that turned out to be a blessing — or otherwise changed your life for the better? Tell us all about it.

Image

When I was a kid, I was surrounded by people who liked to read books, well academic books to be precise. If i recall accurately…I never saw anyone at that young age who liked to read story books. I was less than 10 and I used to go to my neighborhood for studies, (At that time there were no classes.) So one day, I was just browsing for book in my neighbor’s house and accidentally saw a story book, lying at a corner. And it had all the colors and writings other than the boring school books. To say I was excited to see those colorful illustrations would be putting it mildly, because at that tender age, I didn’t even knew colorful books like that even existed.

That was my mistake! I saw that book and I just fell in love with it. Well, not with it exactly…with the kind which had stories and illustrations. Because I knew, I had found a distraction for my studies which almost always resulted in scoldings. But this mistake was one of the best one’s ever, because as I grew older I realized this was not a distraction after all! It was the one who helped me understand what is right and wrong, what is courage and fear and what is good and evil. So reading stories were the mistakes which turned out to be the best blessing. And had I not found those story books, I don’t think my childhood would have been that fun!

6 thoughts on “The Best Mistake

Leave a Reply

