The Detective

Have you ever named an inanimate object? (Your car? Your laptop? The volleyball that kept you company while you were stranded in the ocean?) Share the story of at least one object with which you’re on a first-name basis.

You are going to be famous today. The spotlight is going to be on you, buddy!‘ That was the initial thought which struck me when I read about today’s post. Yes I do have an object, or more specifically an ally who lends me his wisdom from time to time.

10611196_754820491246524_1919367168_n

Fellow people meet my humble friend. I tried to come up with various names but at the end I chose, The Panda. Even he liked it. Yes, before you ask, he is a detective and his office is near my computer desk. He has solved many cases but he rarely shares the case-files with me. I guess the professional in him doesn’t allow to share the details with a civilian. Sometimes he will reminiscence about the case he worked on but not more.

Our meeting took place long way back. We both were facing some rough times. I was in a bad shape and he was, well, he was in an old drawer. While searching something I found him. There he was, peering on a wire with his magnifying glass. Apparently he was working on a cold case of webs.

We started hanging out together after that. He is a cool guy, never causing a pain in my bottom. He taught me various things. Most importantly he taught me to observe and to listen, which helps me a lot while I write.

By the way, he is very happy to know he is going to be famous tonight. I hope he doesn’t shift his office now. His rent till now helped to pay my internet fees!

 

6 thoughts on “The Detective

  1. I am trying to quit smoking and purchased a vapor pipe to accomplish that task. Smoking a vape is alot different and in the beginning I was hitting it hard trying to inhale as much sweet nicotine as possible. My coworker commented that I looked like a crack head and I held up my pipe and said “I love cracky” and so the name was born. Cracky the vape pipe. I love Cracky. Cracky is helping me to get healthy. The other day when I left my vape at work during lunch, I got a text from a coworker that read “You left Cracky in the break room.” That made me smile. Cracky is a celebrity now.

    Like

  2. I said the same thing to my co-pilot “Tok the chicken” as I was taking his picture for the Prompt – you’re gonna be famous, Tok…! A PI named Panda…Haha! I like his green overcoat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

